top of page
Black Diamond

Laser Safety Standards

Laser use and laser safety go hand in hand. When planning your laser use strategy, it’s integral to consider the ways in which your workplace can achieve safety compliance, both to stay up-to-date with legal standards and to provide your employees and guests with the peace of mind that your workplace is protected and safe.

Laser Safety Oversight and Regulatory Classes

When discussing the matter of laser safety standards, it’s essential to understand the advisory organizations that regulate such standards. You will also want to familiarize yourself with the various laser classes that are present in your workplace or will be implemented as part of your laser use strategy.


The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) provides a laser safety classification system that groups lasers by type into four (4) different classes, with subclass specifications, to guide laser safety protocol at the workplace level. ANSI laser safety standards evaluate lasers by type and by their potential to inflict potential biological damage if used in an incorrect manner.

The ANSI laser safety classifications are then applied to workplace laser safety protocol to help managers create a safe laser use environment for employees and guests. To learn more about laser classifications and workplace-specific guidelines, check out the Laser Institute of America’s repository.

Does your workplace need laser safety enclosures to meet ANSI regulations? Our selection of laser enclosures can provide a safe place for laser usage and keep your work area up to the applicable codes. And our laser safety eyewear products can protect your employees and guests from harmful rays they may encounter on your premises.

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) does not have a classification system of its own and instead relies on the ANSI specifications for laser safety standards.


The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) is responsible for maintaining laser safety standards and recommendations at the international level. While the focus of the IEC goes well beyond laser safety, it’s important to note how the Commission’s recommendations have shaped laser safety standards for many workplaces and classification systems.

The IEC provides laser classifications based upon safety of viewing, as well as other criteria for laser safety. When it comes to compliance for your workplace, you may find a variety of IEC recommendations and regulations come into play, depending on your industry and zone.

In order to meet IEC recommendations and regulations, you will want to equip your workplace with laser safety products, such as enclosures and blinds that can protect your employees, guests, and others who use your facility. Our selection of laser safety products and knowledgeable staff can help guide you in your journey to safely outfit your workplace for IEC compliance.


A division of the FDA, the Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH) manages performance safety for all lasers on the market. Their classification system provides regulatory direction for laser usage as it pertains to the potential impact of radiological beams on human health.

CDRH classifications are particularly necessary as they apply to laser devices in the medical setting. If you have questions about laser usage in medicine, consult the CDRH site for more information.

Do you need to certify a laser product for FDA compliance? Are you looking for laser safety consultancy services?

At RT Technologies, we have a team of specialists who can review your laser products and provide the necessary documentation for FDA registration and CDRH Product Certification, as well as laser safety audit services. We also offer turnkey CDRH reports and compliance with every laser enclosure we deliver, to ensure that your workplace is up to standard.

Contact us today to learn more about how our lasersafety consultancy can help your brand stay compliant.

bottom of page